The Clearview Center
Our Next Class: We have temporarily suspended conducting our classes. We expect to re-start again in the summer of 2018.
"I was so nervous about going to a class like this, but the teachers make it actually interesting and fun. No lectures, no stupid old movies, just real world information, good discussion and stuff like that. I was very surprised that they wanted our opinion about things. They made me think!" -- Rich V.
"Thanks Bob. I have never been through any session like that before and it most definitely gives one perspective and things to be aware of to make sure a problem doesn't develop." -- Bill H.
NEBRASKA DRUG/ALCOHOL EDUCATION CLASS (DAEC)
OUR DAEC is typically every other Saturday from 9am-1pm, is $50, and is conducted in our office at 4913 Underwood Ave., in the beautiful Dundee neighborhood of Omaha, Nebraska. This meets your requirement to complete a 4 hour DAEC. If additional documentation beyond the certificate is required, there may be an additional charge.
If you need the 8 hour class, it is $80, and you do the Saturday class plus 2 interactive education groups. We have these EVERY Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday from 6 to 8 pm. You can do the interactive education groups before or after the Saturday DAEC, whatever works for you. You pick the nights, call or text to reserve your seat, show up twice and you’re done with 8 hours.
If you really REALLY do NOT want to be in a group, you can do all 4 or 8 hours in 1-on-1 individual education sessions with me at $100 per hour ($400 for 4 hour DAEC, $800 for 8 hour DAEC).
IOWA OWI-DUI DRUG/ALCOHOL EDUCATION CLASS (DAEC)
IF IOWA has a hold on your driver’s license, it’s a bit more complicated, but essentially you need an Evaluation ($100) and an 8 hour DAEC ($80). You need the 8 hour class, so you do (1) the Saturday Class plus (2) 2 interactive Education Groups; these are conducted in our office on 49th and Dodge (105 S. 49th St., Suite K), Omaha, Nebraska 68132. We have the Saturday Class typically every other Saturday from 9am-1pm. We have the Education Groups EVERY Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday from 6 to 8 pm. You can do the Education Groups before or after the Saturday Class, whatever works for you. You pick the nights, call or text to reserve your seat, show up twice and you’re done.
If you really REALLY DO NOT WANT to be in a GROUP, you can do all 8 hours in 1-on-1 individual education sessions with me at $100 per hour ($800 for 8 hour DAEC). We take credit cards an PayPal offers 6 months same as cash financing for my programs.
Below is the info you may want to know about the Iowa hold -- don't worry, we will do all the work, you just show up, participate and pay for it. I have contracted with Iowa to offer a fast, easy, low cost program to help people like you meet all Iowa's requirements so they will release their hold and so you can get your Drivers License.
What's going on? How did this happen to me? What happen recently (around the beginning of 2011), Iowa FINALLY joined the National Drivers License Data Base - NDLDB - (it had been around in some form for about 15 years). When they joined, they entered in all their info on everyone who ever got in trouble with the law in Iowa. The legal sentence for your infraction (e.g. court appearances, fines, jail time, probation, community service, etc.) may have been completed, but now that you are in the NDLDB, Nebraska knows your name and wants to know that you've "reformed" since your encounter with the law in Iowa, and Iowa wants to know that they did all they could do to make our roads safe for others and for YOU (you know it's not safe to drive drunk, right ... of course). And both States want to cover their butts legally and in the press ... and they both want your money to help keep some of your fellow citizens employed, i.e., some people may have a $200 DOT (Dept. of Transportation, $201.50 if you pay on-line) reinstatement fee and everyone has the the $25 DOE (Dept. of Education, for the Alch/Drug class) administrative fee ($26 if you pay on-line), which provides some wages for your fellow Americans, so you'll be happier if you smile, shrug your shoulders, accept it and move on. Before 2011, no state knew anything about what you did in Iowa -- now they do. Almost everyone who gets a DUI reforms their habits in some way, and Iowa and Nebraska wants to know your status (i.e. they want an "OK" from a professional to cover their butts ... oh yea, and to make sure you've stopped driving drunk). That's where I come in.
How do I get Iowa to release the hold so I can get my NE DL? They require (1) a Chemical Dependency (CD) Evaluation and successful completion of the Recommendation on that Evaluation and (2) 8 hours of Drug and Alcohol Education, what they may call "Drinking Driver Education".
(1) The CD Eval:If you HAVE a CD Eval that's 6 months old or less from a Nebraska Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC), Iowa will accept it. BEFORE YOU PAY $140-$200 to someone who is not a LADC, please, save yourself some dough, ASK them if they are an LADC (if they say anything other than YES, then don't waste your money, call me, my eval is $100 when you take the DAEC). IF you have one from a Nebraska LADC, then towards the end of the eval, there will be a section entitled "Recommendation". Often there is some psychobabble like "ASAM Level 2.0 IOP 9-10hr/wk, 13 weeks" or "ASAM Level 1.0 Outpatient". Usually the recommendation is NOT clear to the typical patient, and you'll need my help to translate it into "do this" language. I'd be glad to help you interpret your recommendation, for free, and I guarantee Iowa will have the same interpretation as me. IF the CD Eval recommends treatment, class, or some follow through (like AA meetings), Iowa requires proof that you successfully completed the recommendation. Often treatment programs will give you a "Certificate" or a "Discharge Summary" that shows you successfully completed it. That's what we need to send Iowa.
If you DON'T HAVE a CD Eval that's less than 6 months old I will do one for you in the format Iowa accepts for $100 if you take the Drug and Alcohol Education Class (DAEC) class described below. Typically, CD Evals for legal purposes in Nebraska are $140-$200. And fair warning, you have to know, that if you and I know you need some help for your drinking problem, then you will have to do what I recommend for treatment if you want to get your drivers license back. If you still have a substance abuse or dependence disorder, you will have to do more than just take the 8 hour class. Like I said before, most people who get a DUI reform themselves (research shows about 50-60% of people who get one DUI change their drinking habits immediately on their own without professional help). If your drinking habits didn't change as a result of your DUI, you are going to have to get some help. How much help, you and I can determine when we do the evaluation. Don't freak out. You can trust me. I'm really REALLY good at what I do. I never recommend more treatment than is medically necessary, but I can't recommend less either, for your well-being, for the good of every driver on the road, and for my reputation. And I can help you to never ever ever get in trouble with the law again, and to not kill yourself or anyone else on the roads. That's what you want anyway, right?
(2) 8 hours of Drug and Alcohol Education: You need to accumulate a total of 8 hours of class, it is $75, and you do the Saturday class plus 2 interactive education groups. We have these every Monday Tuesday and Thursday from 6 to 8 pm. You can do the interactive education groups before or after the Saturday DAEC, whatever works for you. You pick the nights, call or text to reserve your seat show up twice and you’re done.
If you really REALLY do not want to be in a group, and you can afford it, you can do all 4 or 8 hours in 1-on-1 individual education sessions with me at $100 per hour ($400 for 4 hour DAEC, $800 for 8 hour DAEC).
What's the advantage of using The Clearview Center's Program to release my Iowa hold? I've worked with Iowa for a long while, talked directly many times with Janine Johnson and Barbara Ledvina with the Iowa Department that clears your record, and I email them regularly to keep up to date on changes and developments, so they know me and trust me. In fact, I tailored my DAEC over several months of work with them to meet their exact requests and requirements. MORE IMPORTANTLY, all the documentation that Iowa needs to release the hold on your record, I scan in and email it directly to Janine Johnson and Barb Ledvina, the people who type in the new info into the NDLDB that tells Nebraska you're cleared and released. YOU don't have to send it by snail mail or otherwise ... before you leave my office, when you have everything done, I scan in the documentation, and email it to them AND a cc: to YOU. The next day, they do their entries in the NDLDB and you are instantly cleared. I have had people finish their last group on Monday night and get their Drivers License in Nebraska on Tuesday. Don't forget, some people have a $200 reinstatement fee with the Department of Transportation ($201.50 if you pay on-line); and everyone has an additional $25 administrative fee to the Department of Education ($26 if you pay it on line at https://epay.educateiowa.gov . The DOE clears your record the day they get my email; the DOT clears your record the DAY AFTER they get your $200 (and again, almost everyone has this, but apparently not everyone, and you can pay it on-line at https://mymvd.iowadot.gov/Account/Login?ReturnUrl=%2fCivilPenalty).
Feel free to email, text, or call if you have any questions. I look forward to helping you get everything clearer up!